Personal Branding- Strategies for building personal brand

Personal Branding

Personal Branding

Today I am going to talk about a method which is a part of Digital Market. In this Article, I am going to write about personal branding which has so many confusions, myths and misinformation. I am going to put some light on Personal Branding today from my personal experience in Digital Marketing. In this post we will learn about following topics.

  • What is Personal Branding?
  • Myths about Personal Branding
  • How to build your personal brand and Personal Branding Strategies
  • Importance of Personal Branding
  • Who Needs Personal Branding

What is personal Branding

Personal branding is all about how you represent yourself and showing your understanding of skills and talent to people over digital platforms. It is a method of creating an image or persona of you on internet platforms. It is a method of developing an image between people’s mind about you by using different internet channels. I would like to explain this with an example.

In above image, you could see 1 person in two different personas. There are two different perceptions which come in people’s mind when they see both the images separately. He is very famous Rapper Snoop Dogg who has millions of followers. Not every got a chance to meet him but everyone has his or her own brand image for him.

Your personal brand is a combination of your unique talent, skills and experiences which express about you only.

Myths about Personal Branding

Let’s understand few common myths about personal branding. There are misconceptions between people about personal branding and often they get confused between company branding and personal branding. Let’s burst the bubble and understand the difference.

Personal Branding can help in building an identity from scratch

Personal identity is more about what you actually do and who you actually are. It helps you to create an identity based on your skills and talent. You simply cannot build fake identity by using this method. You have to rely on true facts and use the right information while working on building a personal brand for yourself.

Personal Branding is a Short Term Strategy

It is a common misconception that personal brands stay for shorter span of time. But in reality it doesn’t work this way. A brand image stays for a longer time and we should focus on building personal brand with positive approach and future focus mind. Once you build a successful personal brand, it stays forever.

Personal Image is good but not necessary

We are living in a century in which all the information about person or any particular brand is available on internet. One single click could reveal all of such information within seconds. If you believe it is not necessary, then you need to rethink about this. Internet revolution has brought a big change in digital space and people have multiple resources to find information.

It’s impossible to fix a personal brand once it’s broken

It doesn’t matter what goes wrong and how it goes wrong, there’s always a way to fix it. There is always something which you could do in order to improve your personal brand. It require professional consultancy. All you need is a Digital Marketing Expert who could help you in this task.

There’s no option of changing Personal Brand

It’s a common belief that once the personal brand image is built, none has an option to change it. But in reality, it is possible to adapt the change and re-brand or rebuilt your personal brand. Let’s take an example of a guy who did it successfully Mr. Alfred Nobel . He was a Swedish who did multiple things. He was a businessman, a chemist, an engineer, an inventor and a philanthropist. But he was named as “merchant of death” by the media because of his invention of dynamites. In order to change this, he decided to invent Nobel Prize which recognizes those who benefit humankind.

According to Carmen Nobel  these are Brand Lessons From the Nobel Prize

Strategies to build your personal brand

In order to build a successful personal brand, you could try the suggestions given below.

Define your Audience

You have to define your audience first and understand what they really want to hear about you. Prepare a list of your talents and skills which could help you in setting up your personal brand. If you are a job seeker or freelancer, then it’s important for you to showcase your talent. In order to do that you need to focus on audience type because every personal brand attracts a targeted audience type. According to your personal brand image, you could attract audience.

Create a vision for brand image

Your vision should be clear while working on your personal brand image. Focus on skills what you really have. Don’t be the Jack of all and master of none. Instead of getting into quantity, focus on quality and use the skills which suit your persona. A digital identity should not be based on fake information.

Learn to accept

Test your skills on internet platforms by taking part in conversation and accept the critic responses on your talent or skills. Work hard to make yourself perfect by accepting all feedback and suggestions. You could only stand out from the queue if you have extra ordinary talent. So work on your skills and those critic responses would definitely help you out in this.

Optimize your profiles on social and other digital platforms

It is most important to keep your social and other digital media profiles updated. Optimize all your profiles, handles and pages and list your original information. Always use the correct information on your profiles. A Personal Identity could be much more than just self-promotions. It helps in increasing your credibility on internet.

Showcase your achievements

Internet is a place where it’s very hard to lie because every piece of information is available easily. In order to build a successful brand image, you need to showcase your achievements by telling the success stories. These success stories play an important role in self-branding. Number of case studies, achievements and milestones built a trust between you and people who follow you.

Importance of Personal Branding

When it comes to self-branding, I could say from experience that people don’t invest in product but they invest in brands. Similarly investors don’t invest in your company they invest in you. And you could only gain this much of credibility by doing self-branding. If you are looking for growth in career or business, you should take personal branding seriously and start working out on it. Let’s take few examples here.

Athletes got endorsement projects not because of playing particular sport, but they got it based out on their talent and how they played.

Actors, politicians, company CEO’s and every person who got some talent could built a self-brand and showcase the talent he/she has. Digital platforms allow each of us to publish what we have and share our story. Your personal brand is not just what you think or share about you but it is about what other people think, share and talk about you. Your brand identity is the totality of what people perceive about you and is defined by everything you do, based on what they find when they search about you on different search engines.

Who needs Personal Branding

Self-Branding is something which everyone deserves. If you have talent and skills then you definitely need personal branding. You could achieve more in terms of profession and career if you work on self-branding.

You could be any person or professional such as athlete, sportsman, sportswoman, lawyer, doctor, engineer, Digital marketer, entrepreneur, Teacher, working professional, Actor, Politician, Actress, Writer, Dancer, Singer, personal coach, trainer, an expert or anyone who gained more than average skills. Self-Branding is for everyone.


Personal Branding is not a niche, but it’s a right for everyone. Self-Branding is not restricted any specified category. It belongs to everyone who want to show his or her talent.

Negative Publicity-Remove Negative Search Results from Google

negative publicity

Internet revolution has created many opportunities for business owners to market their business on different online platforms. Every business in this world is available on different internet platforms. Internet is the easiest way to drive more business and create product awareness between audiences. There are so many positive effects of internet marketing for businesses. But today we are going to learn more about negative publicity.

Dealing with bad publicity is not at all an easy task. It requires a lot of efforts and different online reputation management methods. If you don’t manage your business online presence, negative publicity can harm you and your business reputation to a great extent.  Every business owner need to learn proactive responses for consumer reviews and complaints on different internet platforms. The most important this is to resolve the issue Instead of getting into argument without losing your cool.

Today we will learn about some SEO Strategies to push down negative search results. We will learn about Reverse SEO which is a strategy to deal with Negative Publicity. But before that let’s understand what Negative Publicity is and how it affects your business.

Negative Publicity

Whenever users talk negatively about Brand, Product, Services or a person over internet is considered as negative publicity. Negative publicity is done by users who are not happy with services, product or a particular brand. Negative user reviews are one of the examples. In order to understand more let’s take separate examples of different negative publicities.

Brand Negative Publicity

When users are not happy with particular brand or have complaints, they talk negatively about brands on multiple internet platforms such as social media. Let’s take an example here. Hypothetically I have a brand with the name Brand-A. I have provided services under this brand but the user is not happy with the service or product which they received. Now they launched a complaint in in grievance department of Brand-A but didn’t receive satisfactory response from the team. In this situation, the user would take help of internet platforms and write negatively about Brand-A it includes:

  • Google Ratings (Google My Business)
  • Product or services reviews on product listing sites
  • Negative comments on social media
  • Creating parody or deceptive brand website

Negative Publicity for Services

Services negative publicity is when users are not happy with services. Let’s take another example here. Hypothetically my Brand-A is providing paid services such as monthly newsletters for Digital marketing updates. But the users are not getting latest updates as promised under paid services. Instead they are receiving better information from another free platform. In this situation the users would contact Brand-A and let them know that they are not getting better services under paid subscription. If they start receiving better services, they will continue else they will start talking negatively about services on internet.

Product Negative Publicity

Negative product publicity is little different from Brand & Services. Because sometimes users are happy with brand and services but have something negative to talk about product. Let’s take an example again. Hypothetically, Brand-A is an E-Commerce platform from where people get the stuff. If any customer receives a faulty product, they will complain about the product only. If the product is originally created by Brand-A then it can be solved easily but if the product is listed by any third party vendor on Brand-A, then it will create complicated situations in providing resolution to customer. In this situation, the customer would share negative thoughts about product only.

Let’s take another example for negative product publicity. If customers are loyal users of any brand and for one instance, they received faulty product, they will complaint it to brand but will not talk negatively about brand.

Negative Publicities for Person

Person negative publicities are based on public figures or famous personalities such as Politicians, Actors and Athletes or sportsmen.  Person negative publicity is completely different from all the above listed types. In this type of publicity, it is based on user belief instead of user experience. Let’s take an example of Politicians.

Politicians have huge public following in which some support them and some oppose them. People who support them put their positive thoughts on internet. But people who don’t like them write about their personal views and talk negatively about them. Most commonly used platform for this kind of publicity is Social Media. People follow given below practices:

  • Creating Negative Social Media Pages
  • Negative Web Pages including Personality Name
  • Negative content blog posts on different platforms
  • Paid Promotions on social media

So far we have learned about type of different negative publicities and tactics followed by users under each category. Let’s move on to the impact of negative content over internet. Let’s understand how negative content could impact your business.

Impact of Negative Publicity on Business

impact of negative publicity

impact of negative publicity


There are several bad impacts of negative publicity on business. It is not restricted to bad sales impact but it can damage a lot of things apart from sales.

Impact on Brand Equity

Brand equity could suffer a lot because of negative articles on different internet platforms and search result page. Sometimes brand has to recall their products because of such information but it create a negative image of brand and it’s product between audiences. It leaves a huge impact on brand equity for a longer term.

Trust Loss

It require great amount of time and efforts to gain user trust but one simple mistake could ruin it. Act fast on complaints and user reviews before it completely destroy trust between users. Once a brand loses its trust, it became a tedious task to regain the trust. Losing trust would directly affect your brand image and product sales.

Effect on Sales

Every negative word on internet directly affects sales. The more you receive negative reviews, ratings and social media mentions, the more you see negative impact on sales. Word of mouth and words on internet plays an important role in brand reputation and driving more sales. If you are not taking complaints or user reviews seriously, you may see a big impact on your sales.

Impact on Brand Reputation

Negative articles about brands leave a huge impact on brand reputation. Losing brand reputation is the most serious concern for business owners. If users are searching about your brand and they are getting articles against your brand or services, it will destroy your brand reputation.

Remove Negative Search Results from Google

We have got enough information about Negative Publicity and its impact on business. It’s time to move on to the resolutions. Let’s understand how to deal with negative publicity and remove Negative Search Results from Google.

Create Multiple Social Media Pages

This is the most effective method to deal with negative articles on search results. If any negative article is ranking in Search Result page for your brand then try to push down the article by creating multiple social media pages for your brand. Famous social media platforms such as twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn and Pinterest could significantly help in pushing down the effects of negative links.

Build Strong Business Profiles

List your business on different channels such as Google Business, Bing, Yahoo and Yelp. Try to capture the SERP (Search Engine Result Page) on your brand keyword with multiple results by using these multiple business  platforms. It will expose your business to larger audience and help you in developing better brand image for your business.

Use PR Channels

If you have something exciting related to your business which you want to share with your audience then use press release. You could also approach PR channels to cover your story. Good number of news articles about your business would rank down the negative articles from search results.

Report Spam Websites

If a blog or website created by using your brand name which has objectionable content then you could report the website or blog. Once you report such content, search engines would only show the verified links related to this information. Here is how to report a spam website. You can follow the steps to file your report.

Additional steps

Apart from above listed steps, you could put in your efforts in additional steps to get rid of negative links from search results.

  • Address your customers timely
  • Create engaging content on web
  • Use sub domains to capture SERP
  • Create a buzz by getting mentions from non-business platforms by organizing events such as sponsoring events, charity and social causes.

By following these tips, you could get rid of negative links from search results. Although it is not an easy task to push down negative articles from search results but if you put in your best efforts, you can do it.


None has control over internet. In order to maintain better brand image, always create better strategies for Online Reputation Management. Building grievance redressal forum, listening consumer complaints and responding each and every feedback or suggestions would help you to handle the negative publicity for your brand.

Hope these steps would help you to deal with negative publicity. If you have additional steps, tips, feedback or suggestions for this article then do comment below.

Increase Instagram Followers for Free

increase instagram followers

Instagram is another social media platform which is commonly used by people for sharing their photos with creative hashtags. But instagram is gaining new popularity because of increasing influencer’s activities on it. Because of these many activities, it’s very important for people to get real followers. But It’s not an easy task to increase instagram followers. Everybody likes to have good numbers of followers, subscribers or engagement such as likes & comments on their instagram posts. It creates a connection between owner of account and followers.

Today in this topic we will learn about few methods and tips to increase instagram followers for free. Yes you heard it absolutely right; you could get more followers on your instagram account without investing your money. But before getting into tips and tricks let’s understand why account owners work to get followers on instagram.

Importance of Instagram followers

Followers are important for people who are willing to earn money from their instagram accounts. Instagram influencers earn money and followers are most important part to monetize instagram accounts. An influencer could turn regular Instagram followers into a potential customer of any particular brand. Every business has a goal of increasing sales by using different methods and using influence market is one of them. It can help you to grow your sales revenues. As an online business owners or marketer, even if you have a brilliant social media strategy, you should always have an extra ordinary e-commerce strategy for instagram. The best part about instagram influence market is that you don’t need special skill sets to improve your sales. It’s so easy that you could even perform without using any special tools. All you need is, little bit understanding of your audience and market you are going to target.

Tips to increase Instagram followers

Let’s understand few tips which can help you to get followers on instagram. You can gain real followers by practicing right methods in right ways. There are common myths about instagram market which we are going to bust today. So let’s understand how we can get real followers without using our money.

Connect with People

Create a connection between people by sharing relatable images. For example, if you are sharing a picture with your Dog, you could actually attract people who either have a dog or had a dog and the connection between pet owners and their pet is very strong.

Tip: You could take the reference from most popular accounts and note down the common factors before posting your image on instagram. Make sure to create your own original images instead of sharing copied content. By sharing this type of content on your account, you’re building a connection between your audiences. That’s how you could attract more people towards your account.

Correct Timings

Always choose the right time to post your content on instagram. For example, if you want to share a picture of doing Yoga, then try to post it in morning. It will give you better views and engagement rather than posting it in evening. Majority of users explore instagram when they have little extra time such as when they get up in the morning, when they are on break during office, while traveling to school, college or office and on free time during holidays. You need to understand that a post appears on user’s screen for a limited time and it gets lost as soon as time goes. Users follow multiple accounts and according to number of followed accounts, they get the posts in their news feed.

In order to handle this situation, always choose the best time to post your content on instagram.

Use of Hashtags

When it comes to instagram hashtags, people are confused in choosing the right hashtag for their post. Let me make it easier for you. It is a common myth that hashtags with maximum number of public posts are useful to gain more followers. It is little surprising but true. In order to gain followers, we don’t need hashtags with maximum public posts but we need hashtags which are related to our content. Whenever you are using hashtags, make sure to use the tags which you can relate to your content.

Myth Busting Fact

I would like to bust this hashtag myth with an example. Let’s assume my Instagram page TheSEOGuy was created to sell physical products such as Shoes. Now if I use hashtags related to my product, then I could attract people who are interested in similar product or business. For example #ShoesForSale which has 1792719 public posts and #ShoeLovers which has 771660 public posts.  Now imagine if I am using hashtags such as #Bollywood which has 21212363 public posts and #Hollywood which has 30894300 public posts. Out of these four hashtags, only two could generate genuine followers on my account. It’s because the likes which I would generate from non-business hashtags are not my targeted audience and the interest of this audience is not based on my business.

Work on your Interaction

Follow the rules of reciprocation. It is very common between social media platform. If someone has liked your content, you could also like theirs. Sometimes, you have to show your interaction to gain real followers instead of just uploading your image and waiting others to like it. Put yourself on work if you really want to increase instagram followers. Maintain a good interaction rate and share content with similar accounts.

Pro Tip: If you tag accounts which share similar content as yours, you will receive mentions from them. It works like you scratch my back and I scratch yours but always an effective method of targeting larger audience.

Follow a trending and your account related hashtag to find out similar content and accounts.

Encourage your Audience

Encourage your audience to interact with you. For this you could follow two most effective methods.

  1. Ask Questions: Write your questions in your post caption and ask from your audience to answer. You may see a positive hike in your post engagements after posting images with questions. It may help you to generate more likes and surely a great engagement on your content.

Pro Tip: Use the trendy hashtags so that it is easily available for users and share your content on other social media platforms to reach out more people who could possible write answers.

  1. Host Contests: Hosting contents for users is another best method to drive engagement on your instagram account. Let’s take an example here. Hypothetically, you have posted an image of your school days and you thought of making it a contest where your followers could post their school memories while using Hashtag started by you or mentioning your account.

Pro Tip: Try to host contests on special occasions such as festivals. Most of the business accounts run the contests during that time so it’s a great opportunity to reach out broader audience.

Maintain Frequency

It is always important to have interesting and unique content on accounts. If you have interesting and something new for your audience then you have higher possibilities of gaining fresh followers. Try to maintain the content frequency but not too much. Use the correct timings and post according to it. Do not create bulk content. One quality post could perform much better than hundreds of quantity posts. Always keep the quality in your mind while maintaining post frequency.

Use your Instagram Bio

An interesting Bio always attracts audience towards account. You could use your bio to increase instagram followers for free. Just use this option wisely. Bio is the only section where you could show your creativity so always invest your time in it. It would be great if you conduct a research to create account Bio. Research for bio seems surprising. Let’s take an example of analyzing similar accounts for creating a bio.

Try to do a research on similar accounts which could be your potential competition. Understand their engagement and text content on images. It will help you to create good bio for your account. Bio box is the only place where you could put a link so put the link of your social or business website so that users could explore more about you or your product.

This is how you could increase instagram followers for free. I have few additional suggestions for you. There are thousands of tools available which claims that they could help in increasing followers on your instagram account. Don’t fall for it. Try few tools to make your instagram account look good. I have used few tools which can also help you to make your instagram look perfect.

  • Music Stickers: It helps you to add music to your images on instagram stories.
  • Boomerang: You could create small GIF by using this tool.
  • Word Swag: Create text over images by using Word Swag. You could convert and ordinary image into a master piece quote with your image.
  • Banner Pic: Split one picture into six or more pictures to create a massive portrait on your Instagram page


Choosing a right strategy is more important than choose between tools. Use the right methods instead of relying on tools.

Hope these tips would help you to add more followers to your instagram. All these methods can be performed without investing money. You can increase instagram followers for free by using above written tips.

If you have additional tips, feedback or suggestions for this topic then do comment below. You may also learn How to Rank YouTube Videos on Top

Location Based Marketing LBM

location based marketing

Location is an important part of any business. And when it comes to marketing, it is one of the major factors of successful marketing campaigns and brand reputation. According to its name, LBM (Location Based Marketing) is a direct marketing method. Under this practice marketers built strategies that use device location such as mobile & desktop/laptops to alert the device’s owner about promotional offers from a near-by business. Also it provides the data of business available nearby user location according their search keywords on search engines.

You must have received location based alerts in the form of text message from different service providers in your area. It’s because text SMS are part of location based marketing. Today we are going to learn few interesting insights of location based marketing. We will learn benefits of doing it and some tips to improve our strategies for LBM.

How it works

LBM methods are based on location access. Whenever you surf a website or install an application in your phone, you get a pop up notification stating

“Allow location access”

app location access

“Google wants to know your location”

google location
google location

“Website location access”

website location example of location based marketing
website location

This is how marketers collect user locations. All these methods are used to understand the exact user location to trig campaigns and refine potential audience. For example, if you look for groceries stores then you might see a walmart store in your search results. LBM strategies are based on delivery results to nearby audience (Local Audience). The moment users allow their location access; website or mobile app owners can access the location and represent their product or services to them in the form of text location based results, business listings and advertisement campaigns.

Purpose of using LBM Method

Purpose of doing LBM Method is to capture the attention of end users and convert them into a customer. You could convert the potential customer’s into regular buyers. The future of location based marketing is bright. The strategies which marketers develop under location based marketing, are based on how brands owners are able to create new levels of interaction with the individual customers on the move.

Benefits of Location Based Marketing

So far we have learnt about the LBM method and its purpose. Now let’s understand few important benefits of performing LBM method for your business marketing.

Personalized Advertising

Marketers could send personalized advertisements by using location based alerts. The location based alerts could be sent in the form of text SMS or mobile app notifications.

Business Reviews

A business could get more and reviews about services and product which helps to improve performance of product.

High Quality Real time Location

By LBM Method, marketers could collect accurate information. Every set of data should be accurate for mobile advertising such as device ID, place, the lat/long and the quality of the media need to be correct. That’s how marketers could convert potential customers into permanent buyers.

One of the great examples of location based marketing is NFL season 2010. During the event, the Washington Redskins ran a very successful Foursquare campaign. They offered giveaways for check-ins to Fedex field (their home Field) along with 27 different bars & restaurants around D.C. where they held numerous rally parties. The results were amazing of this campaign. This one campaign garnered Washington redskins 12,800 Four Square followers and 20,457 check-ins at their home field (Fedex Field). It also raised their Twitter followers to a handsome number 14,909 and their Facebook fans to 429,510, respectively.

Hope these insights would help you to understand the LBM method and its importance. If you have any suggestions or feedback for this information then do comment below and make it a better information platform for everyone.

For more Digital Marketing Tips keep exploring TheSEOGuy.

Conversion Rate Optimization Strategies and Best Practices

Conversion Rate Optimization

Every day we learn something new in digital marketing. In order to make our efforts count, we apply different methods, techniques and a lot of brain to achieve marketing goals. The most important part of marketing campaigns is number of Conversions. We work very hard to achieve highest conversions from marketing campaigns. Today I am going to share some insights about conversion rate optimization. It will help you to understand how can you optimize performance and increase conversions. Every marketer in the world be it advertiser, campaign manager, business owners or marketing strategist could understand the importance of conversions. Today I will share some information which can help you to enhance the performance of your campaign and gain maximum conversions.

What is Conversion Rate Optimization

This is a method of analyzing end user data points to understand high and low conversions. Conversion rate optimization is used to improve the sales conversions for any product or services. By working on CRO, marketers encourage users to perform certain actions. Depending on website product or services, the actions are defined. For example, if you are running a website which offer services, then the action should be encourage user to make a payment for services. However, if you have a product on your website, then the action would be to make a purchase.

Signup, subscribing for newsletters, Filling forms, product inquiry and making an appointment are also considered as actions. The CRO process involves understanding how users move through the website, what king of actions they take, and what make them stop for completing the purchase.

We can categorize conversions in to Micro conversions and Macro Conversions.

Micro Conversions

micro conversions

Micro conversions are those where users spent lesser time on web and complete the action. For example:

  • Creating accounts
  • Sign up for newsletters
  • Adding product to wish-list
  • Creating Bookmark of product
  • Schedule Meetings
  • Product Inquiry

Most of the micro conversions are available for free. Users don’t need to invest their money while completing the action. These conversions are used to collect user data which can be used for product or services marketing. Also it helps marketers to understand the user behavior and their interest.

Macro Conversions

macro conversions

Macro conversions are those where user spends good amount of time on website and then complete the action. For example:

  • Making a purchase
  • Purchasing premium subscriptions
  • Request product Demo

During the macro conversion, user verifies the product and services then get the product. They invest their money in this type of conversions. In order to achieve macro conversions, marketers need to put in the best efforts in representing the product or services. The choice of words should be relevant and according to targeted audience.

Strategies for on page Conversion Rate Optimization

Before getting into tips, tricks and suggestions to create strategies for conversion rate optimization, let me tell you that you need to create an amazing product or services and focus on quality. It is very hard to meet expectations of every customer on website. Given below are few points which you can consider while creating strategies for better CRO.

Use of Buttons instead of Text

In order to describe the actions, focus on creating buttons to make it easy for users to complete the action. Simple text such as Click Here, Proceed Here & Buy Now looks great with button texts.


In above image, you can see the difference between text and buttons. However, it is also important check the location of button. It will be lot easier for users to complete the action if the placement of button is easily available. Also, create an attractive set of buttons which can attract users and make them complete the action.

button size

As you can see in the image, the button size is big than the regular ones. It’s because the AIM of marketer to make users understand the importance of this button. Depending on your actions, you could adjust the button size.

Page Speed

On January 17 2018, Google released an update on page speed insights. They accepted that speed has been used in ranking for some time. Page speed is not only the ranking factor in SEO but it can also help you in improving conversion rates. If the page load time is not good, then it will be hard for users to complete the action. The bounce rate would be high which can impact the conversion rate. A small issue could leave a big impact on your performance. Being a SEO Strategist myself, I would suggest you to get the fastest loading servers and give users a page which can respond within fraction of second.

You can check the page speed insights with the help of tool provided by Google.

Use of Headings

Using an attractive headline based on product could make a lot of difference. Use the words wisely on pages. For example “Exclusive” and “Limited Edition” these words made any product special and could bring a different prospective in user’s mind towards the product. Let’s take an example here. I was looking for Video Conferencing and found a page of Cisco.

headings - conversion rate optimization

In above image, you could see the use of headings and button along with product description. While drafting the product description, invest your time in creating the best headlines.

Use of images

Use of correct images at right location could make a big difference in customer actions and can bring a good positive result in conversion rate. It sounds strange that images on pages could affect the Conversion Rate but it is one hundred percent true. Let’s take example of two advertisements for same product.

images example in CRO

In above example, you could see the power of right images. The impact of left and right images would be different. Even both the images represents same product.

Simplify form fields

Create the forms with simple information. Don’t ask users to fill too much of information in forms. For example, if you want users to subscribe for newsletters then asking for email address is enough for goal completion. Adding Gender, Date of Birth and Location is not required. Make it easy for users. Short actions are easy to perform for users.

These were few key points to include in your on page conversion rate strategies.

Strategies for Email Marketing Conversion Rate Optimization

Conversion rate in Email Marketing is different from On-Page. It depends on several different methods such as Opening Email, Landing on Promotion Page, Click through rate and finally completing the conversion. In email marketing method we could optimize differently to improve the conversion rates. In this method we will learn about adjusting customer actions and increasing the percentage of clicks and visits to the promotional landing page.

E-mail platforms are different from web. We get limited options to in terms of performing actions. But if we consider every small factor while creating email campaigns, we could get best results. Given below are few important factors which can help you to boost your conversion rate in email marketing campaigns.

Subject Line

Subject lines could be categorized in two sub categories.

  1. Small Subject Line
  2. Descriptive Subject line

Small Subject lines are very useful while creating gesture campaigns such as Festival Wishes, Welcome Mails, Loyalty Programs and Bonus offers.

Let’s take an example of Thank you mail I received after placing one order online.

Thank you email sample - conversion rate optimization

The subject line in this mail has only my name and a Thank you for placing an order.

Descriptive Subject Line

Descriptive subject lines are important for describing your campaign. User’s may open or may not open the email. In this situation, we could use descriptive subject lines to convey our promotional message to users. Let’s take another example here. Few days back I received an offer from Amazon. It was a promotional email for watches. Refer the screenshot below and see the subject line.

descriptive subject line

As you can see in the image, the subject line contains offer details, product information and promotion expiration date. If you are running a campaign, then you must describe your product & offer details in email subject line.

Email Body

Test every possible template before using it for campaign. A lot of text doesn’t help in increasing clicks. Keep it simple and use lesser text in your email body. Content length should be descriptive enough to convey message. Do not put extra efforts in putting a lot of content in email body. Given below are few additional points to remember while creating email body for promotional campaign.

  • HTML Ratio: Always keep the platform in mind while creating templates. You simply can’t apply the same rule of website design template on email templates. Both are different from each other. In many cases, plain text email performs better at scale than HTML email.
  • Infographics: Use of infographics could bring a change in your campaigns. Attractive graphics with information on it create curiosity but use them wisely in your campaigns. It’s a big challenge to control infographics because responsive templates may behave differently on different platforms such as mobile or tablets.

Campaign Timings

Timings are most important part of email campaigns. Choose the right time of day and the right day of week, especially when sending digest emails once a day/week/month. Depending on your audience, set the timings. For example it doesn’t make sense to send an email after midnight.

Strategies for Social Media Conversion Rate Optimization

There are different prospective behind social media advertisements. Every campaign is different from each other. For example, you might see sponsored posts for page likes, Applications installations and watch videos. But sometimes, you might see a custom product landing pages. For example, Inquiry Pages to collect data, admission forms and early access/subscription advertisements. The sole purpose of these advertisements is to generate more business leads. Given below are few key points to remember while working on Social Media Conversion Rates.

Geo Location

Targeting accurate location is one of the biggest factors in social advertising. You should always choose the location wisely for your promotional campaigns. It can give you better results in terms of business leads and impressions. Let’s take an example here. In India, there are multiple languages are used in different states. If you are willing to run a campaign in regional language, then choosing exact location is must. If you are running an international campaign then always check the influence of language on locations before drafting campaign.  However, most of the time campaigns are created in default language (English-US).

Advertisement Creatives

Creative images could leave an impact on your campaign so you should choose the creative image wisely. You might see some images with high CTR but the conversion is very low. However, there are some images where CTR is low but conversion is very high.

social creative

However, you have to follow the text & image guidelines while running ads on social media platforms. According to Facebook text in ad images “Image text is any text that exists on your ad image or creative. It doesn’t include text outside of your image, such as the body text of your ad- Facebook”

Age & Gender of Targeted Audience

Getting a click from audience which is not targeted could increase the number of Clicks but the Conversion from those clicks is very hard to achieve. Do an analysis on demographics and check the performance data to understand the impact of demographics on your campaigns.

Strategies for Adwords Conversion Rate Optimization

Google adwords conversions are basically calculated by simple formula. The formula is total number of conversions divided by total number of interactions. For example imagine you got 40 conversions from 2000 conversions then the conversion rate would be 2% since 40 ÷ 2,000 = 2%.

In Google Adwords, you need to set up the conversion tracking before running a campaign. You can follow the steps to enable conversion tracking by visiting Set up Conversion Tracking for your website.

Now let’s move on to the steps to for adwords conversion rate optimization.

Quality Score

Every ad you create in Google Adwords, go for quality checks. You have to create ads with quality in order to get maximum benefits.

Using Sitelinks (Call to Action) in Advertisement Meta and Description

Correct use of call to action in Advertisement description and Meta data helps a lot to achieve better conversion rate. Create the sitelinks according to product and business and use it in your adwords campaign. Let’s take one example here.

Call to Action in adwords

The highlighted portion represents the call to action button in this advertisement. You can create as much as sitelinks and use them in different ad campaigns.

Use of trademark (™) or registered trademark (®) symbols

If you have a product or services where you could use any of these symbols then conduct a test. Run a campaign with these symbols and see if you get better results. These symbols help to build trust between users.

Set up Negative Keywords

No business owner or marker would like to spend on keywords which are not related to business or have negative impact. None place a bid on keywords which has no conversion. Within the ad campaign, you could set up list of negative keywords. It is a good practice to save money on click generated on irrelevant keywords.

Multiple Landing Pages

Landing pages are important for testing and running multiple sets of ads. You could use different keywords for each landing page and run different ad campaigns. Be it single product or multiple products, multiple landing pages gives you an opportunity to test variety of ads.

So far we have learnt about conversion rate optimization for different marketing segments. Hope it would help you to draft the best strategies to get the maximum benefits in terms of conversion.

Artificial Intelligence in Digital Marketing

Artificial Intelligence in Digital Marketing

Artificial Intelligence is a science. It was created to build machines with intelligence. AI machines can think, behave and respond like human minds. This technology is huge and soon it is going to impact every sector of technology and digital world. The role of Artificial intelligence in Digital Marketing is going to be interesting. We will be getting a lot more from this technology. It is the time for business owners and digital marketers to learn and understand this technology so that they could use it wisely for better marketing results. Artificial Intelligence is going to be a game changes for businesses which are facing problems in collecting accurate data or insights due to human errors.

Imagine collecting all the accurate data at one single platform without facing any human error. Sounds interesting? Well yes, it is going to be interesting. Today, we are going to learn few insights of Artificial intelligence in Digital Marketing. Being a digital marketer myself, I am always attracted to new technology and inventions.

Examples of Artificial Intelligence in Digital Marketing

The use of AI (Artificial Intelligence) would be lot easier to understand with examples. Let’s take few examples where we could use AI in Digital Marketing.

Content Generation

I remember the days when it was a huge task for content writers to create content and make changes grammatically. First they have to find out the mistakes, and then rephrase the content according to relevance. Imagine a technology where you could correct the content, generate the content and modify with ease anytime you want. Few big brands such as Forbes, BBC, The New York Times and CBS are using applications like Wordsmith, Articoolo, and Quill to create news articles. These AI Bases content generators provide an option where users can fill-in-the-blanks to enter data and keywords can create unique content. It exactly looks like human generated content.

Email Marketing

Every business needs personalized campaigns where they can manage ROI and generate business with minimum investments. And it can be possible by using AI based platforms. An AI can scan and do data analysis on a huge database. You can get consumer behavior insights based on data within minutes by the help of AI. Not only this, you could conduct the A/B testing more efficiently on Artificial Intelligence Platforms. Some tools such as Persado , Boomtrain, and Phrasee can help you to apply AI into your email marketing campaigns.

Advertising Campaigns

Advertising is no doubt the most successful method of generating business. Every business needs advertising for expansion. Most of the platforms for advertising are technology driven. But you know that Artificial Intelligence could add more value if we use it in advertising platforms. Let’s take the example of tool “Adext”. With the help of Adext, you could handle your Facebook and Google Adwords platform automatically. You can even optimize the performance of Advertisement campaign by Adext. It’s AI algorithms could do a lot for your advertising campaigns such as :

  • Manage Budget Every Hour
  • Built in conversion goals
  • Smart Campaigns

Artificial Intelligence in SEO

Search Engine Optimization (SEO) is directly impacted by AI. AI inventions such as Google Voice, Alexa ,Siri and Cortana are leaving a big impact on searches and search engine results. Voice searches are different because these are based on conversational language. A voice search doesn’t contain typical keywords which we type while doing a search on search engines. In order to handle the future technology, Google introduced RankBrain back in 2015. RankBrain is an algorithm update in Google it is a machine learning technology which helps to deliver its search results. RankBrain is part of Google’s overall search “algorithm,” another software program that is used to line up the billions of pages in an order and are most related to search term. If the program (Rankbrain) sees a word or phrase which it isn’t familiar with, the machine can make a guess as to what words or phrases might have a similar meaning and filter the result accordingly, making it more effective at handling never-before-seen search queries or keywords.


Chatbots are another good example of Artificial Intelligence in Digital marketing. Most of the business are using chatbots to interact with users. Some chatbots such as Whatsapp and Facebook Messenger are already common between users. According to website, business owners are also using customized chatbots. And it is changing the customer experience positively. Frankly, none likes to wait in huge queues just to get their issues. Chatbots are making it easy for users and businesses to keep the interaction alive and prompt responses are solving problems of users.

So, these were few examples of Artificial Intelligence in Digital Marketing. Now let’s move and learn few benefits of using AI in Digital Marketing.

Benefits of Using AI in Digital Marketing

So far I have given few examples of AI in Digital marketing those will help you to understand the role of AI in digital marketing. Let’s understand few key benefits of using AI.

Increase Efficiency

Artificial Intelligence improves the efficiency level. You can drive your campaigns more efficiently and more effectively with the help of AI. Effective marketing campaign is the key for business growth. It can improve sales and can help business owners to generate better revenue.

Time Saving

Imagine you have to conduct a research on huge data which has millions pieces of information. It will require good amount of time and a lot of efforts. Also the chances of human errors would be another flaw in this process. But you can avoid this by using AI. It can save your time and the probability of errors would be very much low. You can use this valuable time in creating strategies of business expansion and other important sectors.

Cost Effective

AI platforms are cost effective. Getting an AI tool will always cost you less than full time employees. Because it is a bot, the human errors and demands would be NILL. Intelligence platforms can perform more task than humans within lesser amount of time & money.

Helps in achieving Production goals

A business could generate amazing production results if it has following factors:

  • Lesser Investments & Higher Results
  • Customer Satisfaction
  • Higher production in lesser time
  • Time Management
  • Effective Marketing

All these factors can be achieved by using Artificial Intelligence. Being a marketer myself, I believe it is the right time to learn AI and use it for effective marketing campaigns and to identify the problems in business. The accurate data and insights could help us to grow our business more effectively. AI is not at all against humans. AI is not going to take jobs of humans but it will help us to use our efforts in right direction with more efficiency.

I hope this information on Artificial Intelligence in Digital Marketing would help you to understand its role and benefits in digital world. However, if you have any feedback or suggestions for me then do comment below. Keep exploring TheSEOGuy for more Digital Marketing Tips and Tricks.

Online Reputation Management Guide 2020

online reputation management

ORM stands for Online Reputation Management. We all have heard about this word so many times. Today I am going to talk in depth about Online Reputation Management and let you know some interesting facts about this. We will learn what ORM is and how it can help in Digital Marketing. Also some benefits of ORM and tips to maintain better online reputation management. So let’s start the learning. First let’s understand what is ORM.

Online Reputation Management

As we could understand by its name, online reputation management is a practice of creating strategies to maintain online presence of a product, services, website, individual or any organization. It includes public interaction and services support. Within this practice, you can improve your internet presence and collect public opinions about your business or services which can help you to achieve more customer satisfaction. A positive customer interaction could lead a better word of mouth for your business and drive more engagement & sale.

However, there are many myths about Online reputation management between people. For some people it is considered as social media monitoring method, or another vertical of customer service, and for some people ORM platforms as just customer interaction platforms where one could get product or services support.

Reality of ORM

I remember the days when there was no social media available for people who wanted to talk about any product. It was hard for customers to take out their words on internet be it positive, negative or suggestive. But it is completely changed now. It doesn’t matter how big your business is, the online presence is always a useful method for every business owner. Online Reputation Management brings a transparency between customer and business owners. A good online reputation is not about interacting with people or sharing product/services information online. Sometimes brands need to react on issues. Most of the time reaction is important but sometimes you could skip to react if it is not necessary.

Pro tip: Always maintain the response time if you are willing to react on any customer feedback, suggestion or complaint. If you respond late, it will not help you in building positive brand image. Sometimes, it cost millions for big business. Proactive responses matters a lot during public dealing.

Importance of Online Reputation Management in Digital Marketing

Since the power of social media is increasing every day, ORM became an important part of Digital Marketing Strategies. It is important for to maintain online business presence for every business. Social media profiles are not just about sharing product or services updates, but it could a channel for your business to gain more customers and collect feedbacks.

ORM helps to generate word of mouth for business. So if you are good with your internet presence, you will get more direct visitors (Potential Customers) which you can convert into a business lead. It helps to enhance customer experience and helps in building better products. And the best part is, you get all the feedbacks and suggestions by end users for free.

Benefits of Online Reputation Management

A good online presence has multiple benefits for any business. There are four major benefits of having good online reputation for your brand.

Transparency between users and brand

A good online presence encourages product or services users to ask questions from brands publicly and get answers. While addressing these questions, brands maintain transparency and share right information which is a great sign of building trust between users. No company would share false or incorrect information on public platform.

Direct Interaction/Communication Channel

Business owners could use social media handles as direct communication platforms where they can establish one-to-one conversation with consumers. Business owners can add quality in customer service by answering customer complaints and turn an irate customer into a happy customer. Direct attention to complains, feedback or suggestions creates a positive impact on brand image.

Collect Feedback

For every product, the best feedback one could receive from actual product users. Social Media Channels are the platforms where every customer or potential customer could share product feedback. It helps to make changes in product or develop a better product for audience. It is one of the most important factors in business expansion. Genuine feedback could help a lot in product improvement.

Handling Criticism

Social Media platforms are very much useful while handling criticism. Do not run away or hide from Criticism. Consider the criticism as an opportunity to collect different user experiences and apply fixes in your product or services. Criticism of product is actually a genuine feedback for any product. Let’s take an example here.

Imagine you are running a restaurant chain and one of your customers is criticising served food. You would immediately check for the quality, services and many other factors to improve it. But what if the customer is complaining there is no proper lightening in your restaurant? This is not a direct complaint to your business but always matter in customer experience.

However, you should be positive while dealing with criticism. Getting defensive while handling criticism doesn’t work in internet world. Business owners are not supposed to show aggression or get defensive with customers.

So far we have learnt about benefits, importance and meaning of Online Reputation Management. Now let me tell you few disadvantages of not having online presence or Online Reputation.

Disadvantages of not having online presence

If you are not maintaining your brand’s online presence then you might encounter given below problems.

False Reviews

You have to deal with false reviews if social handles any other online platform of your brand is not available for users to interact. Most of the time, irate customers put false reviews about brands and take out their frustration. Every negative review affects your business reputation and sales. Asking users to visit website is not enough sometimes. Addressing all issues and maintaining transparency would be the biggest challenge in this situation.

Hate Websites

Hate websites directly leave a massive negative impact on your business. Some customers go beyond the boundaries and take out their frustration by creating hate pages. Most of the time these pages have information according to irate customer but it’s very hard to deal with this situation. Some examples of hate sites are

If you don’t have any online presence and any of these pages got rank in SERP, you will need a lot of hard work to get this removed. You need a Digital Marketing Expert in this situation.

Tips to build better Online Reputation

In order to build better Online Reputation, you could follow few basic steps. Being a digital marketer, I have learnt a lot of things by experiencing different situations. I would like to share few tips with you all. Here it goes.

Strong SEO

Search Engine Optimization is one of the best methods to build your online presence. If your brand name or brand keywords give you ranks on first page of Google, then you did the right SEO. Now a day higher ranks in SERP is much more important than business cards.

Maintain Transparency & Share respect

Maintain transparency with users and always respect their opinions about your business. It is a tough task to make people respect your product or service and what you do. Equally gaining trust is not an easy task to achieve. You can only build trust between customers by maintaining transparency.

Maintain excellent response rate

Proactive response helps a lot while dealing with customers on social platforms. None likes to get a late response from brand. If the response rate is not good, you might struggle in retaining customers.

Monitor customer ratings and reviews

Always keep an eye on social media content about your brand. Monitor what people say about you and try to engage with positive feedback. Resolve all the negative complaints timely. It can bring more business opportunities for you. It is a common trend between people to ask questions via social media platforms such as twitter and Facebook.

Avoid Defensive Responses

While responding on social media platform, never get defensive or show aggression. There are millions of social media users who can see or react on your responses. So maintain the politeness and handle every issue carefully.


Frequently Asked Questions about ORM (Online Reputation Management)

What does Online Reputation Management Mean?

Online reputation management is a practice of creating strategies to maintain online presence of a product, services, website, individual or any organization. It includes public interaction and services support.

What is Online Reputation Management Service?

Online Reputation Management is a method of creating better online presence of a brand on different internet platforms. Big brands often use service providers to manage their online presence. Under online reputation management service, providers help brands to built a positive image for their brand name.

Why is Online Reputation management Important?

ORM helps to generate word of mouth for business. So if you are good with your internet presence, you will get more direct visitors (Potential Customers) which you can convert into a business lead. It helps to enhance customer experience and helps in building better products.

How can I improve Social Media Reputation?

There are several ways by which you could improve your social media reputation. Given below are few basic steps.

  • Be responsive to your social media users. Always respond on both positive and negative mentions.
  • Work on building a brand image on social media platforms. Keep the brand image in your mind instead of sales while posting on social media platforms.
  • Cover your brand story: Talk to social media audience and share your brand story with them.
  • React on Reviews: Encourage social media audience to review your services or product. Collect reviews and react immediately when you get a review.
  • Develop Engagement Activities: Encourage people to engage with your social media page/handle. Organize quiz, games and polls to encourage your social media audience and let them engage with your page/handle.

This was the smile guide on Online Reputation Management. Hope it would help you to understand this better. Also, if you have any suggestions or feedback for this information then do comment below.

Example Site – Frequently Asked Questions(FAQ)

Consumer Behaviour-Importance and its benefits

consumer behaviour

Understanding consumer behaviour helps you to do consumer profiling which helps to create amazing marketing strategy for business or product. Today we are going to learn some interesting information on consumer behaviour and consumer profiling. Consumer profiling is a method which you can mention as skills in your resume while applying for jobs in marketing department. But on top of that it’s a practice which helps you to take out maximum results from your marketing campaigns.

Whenever we hear the word “Consumer Behaviour” we got few questions in our mind such as:

  • What is consumer behaviour?
  • Why understand consumer behaviour is important?
  • How consumer behaviour and consumer profiling is correlated to each other?
  • How can we do consumer profiling?
  • What are the benefits of understanding consumer behaviour and doing consumer profiling?

Today I am going to answer all of the questions. So let’s begin with the first answer.

What is Consumer Behaviour

It is the behaviour which consumer display while searching for product and willing to make a purchase. Using, evaluating and disposing of product and services that they expect will satisfy their needs. It is a process which helps us to understand how individuals make decisions to spend their available resources such as time, money and efforts on consumption related items. Majorly you need to understand the whole process by analysing

  • What consumers purchase
  • Why they make a purchase
  • When the purchase was made
  • From where they are buying
  • Analyse the frequency of making purchase
  • how consumers evaluate product value after making purchase (medium)
  • How they dispose of it (exit rate)

This is all you need to do in order to start with understanding consumer behaviour. While working on marketing strategies you could use the existing date of your website to collect all this information. For example, I did a short analysis on consumer behaviour on my portal TheSEOGuy. For this I took the help of Google Analytics tool. This is not a platform where people make a purchase so in this case, user flow is important for me. In Google Analytics tool there’s an option of analyzing Audience. The very first thing to analyse in audience is “User Flow”. By understanding user flow, I could get to know what users are looking for and when they are leaving my portal.

Audience User Flow Consumer Behaviour

As you can see in above image, I can get the important audience data under user flow. It will help me understand what consumers/users are actually looking and when they are leaving.

Now the second important thing is why they come on portal. In order to analyse this, I analyse the type of audience which land on my portal. For this, I analysed the interests under audience in Google Analytics Tool.

audience interest consumer behaviour

By analysing in-market segment, I can easily understand why they are coming to my portal. I also know what should be the potential audience I need to target if I am going to launch a campaign for the services available at my portal.

Let’s move on the point, when they made purchase. In case my portal there are no purchase options available so I could go and check weekdays and see on which particular day audience visit my portal the most. It will help me to understand user retention on my portal. For this I analysed Cohort Analysis under “Audience”.

cohort analysis on consumer profiling

Now in order to understand from where users are coming I could analyse sources. For this you need to explore Acquisition in Google Analytics and look for “Source/Medium” option.

Traffic Sources

Now that I know the sources, I could work on them and create content and campaigns according to best and worst performing sources.

Now move on to the next step which is analysing frequency. In order to do that, again I could analyse “Audience” in Google Analytics.


Under frequency, webmasters could see the consumer behaviour and understand how frequently they visit portal & generate page views. Once we are done with the data, we could easily do consumer profiling and run campaigns or make changes in content according to the numbers.

After learning about consumer profiling and behaviour, now the second thing is importance of consumer behaviour in marketing. Let’s learn the importance of it.

Importance & Benefits of Consumer Behaviour

It is very important to understand your consumer’s behaviour towards product or services. By understanding user behaviour you could drive your campaigns more effectively. It also helps when you are planning to launch new product or services. After analyzing performance data and doing consumer profiling, you could make changes in product or services accordingly.

It also helps webmasters to handle monotonous in web content and manage exit rates. Exit rates and exit pages play an important role in re-defining content and services on web. While doing consumer profiling, exit rates helps a lot to make changes in particular product/services/web pages.

Difference between Consumer profiling and Consumer’s Behaviour

Customer or consumer profiling is a process to create a portrait of customers to help webmasters/business owners understand customer decisions concerning their service. The customers can be broke down into groups of customers sharing similar goals and characteristics. Also each group is given a representative with a photo, a name, and a description. These small consumer groups can be used to make important decisions. Based on profiling you could design or drive campaigns to get the best out of it.

Hope this information on Consumer profiling and Customer Behaviour would help you to understand the process. However, if you have any feedback or suggestions then do comment below.

Social Media Marketing Strategy- Tips for Small Business

social media marketing strategy

Social Media Marketing Strategy- Tips for Small Business

Creating an effective social media marketing strategy is important if you are going to start your business or you are a small business owner. “Social Media” has the power to give unbeatable results over night. It can make your product or services viral within hours and generate amazing business. All you need is amazing social media marketing skills and a good marketing strategy. Today I am going to share few insights of Social Media Marketing which can help you to create a good Social media marketing strategy.

Before getting into tricks or tips for creating social media marketing strategy, let’s understand little bit more about social media marketing.

Social Media Marketing

Social media marketing is a method of marketing your product or services on different social media channels such as facebook, twitter, pinterest, linkedin and many more. You can set up as much as social media channels according to your business requirement. But in order to market your product well, you need to understand social media. Most importantly social media trends, your product/business audience and strategies behind viral content. Do your research and collect as much as data. Once you are done with research and got the data, you can create a strong social media strategy for your business.

Now let’s move on to the steps of creating a better social media marketing strategy.

Step 1 : Analyze Trends

Social media trends are most unstable trends but very effective if you could use them. In order to use viral trends, you need to conduct a small analysis and see the future of trend and it’s impact on your business. You could take help of Google Trends to conduct a small analysis on viral trends. You could also include multiple internet platforms to understand particular trend and collect data. For example social networking websites such as Facebook, content sharing platforms such as YouTube, Vine & Vimeo Pinterest and Flickr, News & informative channels such as BuzzSumo and Mashable, Web 2.0 platforms such as Reddit and Tumblr.

Step 2: Understand Audience Behavior

While understanding the trends, you will get the data of ongoing social media trend but not all users could relate to your business. So, you need to understand your core audience and analyze their behavior towards the trend. Collect the data of user comments and their feedback on trending posts/pages/products. Focus on both negative and positive comments or feedback/suggestions. Negative suggestions are your opportunity to learn and develop better content for audience.

Step 3: Learn from your competitors

While working on social media marketing strategy, it’s important to keep a track on competitor activities. If you are small business owner then you need to put a lot of efforts to do this. Few major steps to analyze competitors social marketing strategy.

  1. Social Engagement: Review the frequency of post engagements and see which posts are performing according to trend what are user reviews. It will help you to understand potential audience behavior. also you will get to know what kind of posts are driving engagements.
  2. Post Frequency: Post frequency is the number of posts on social media platforms. You can analyze the frequency to understand engagement on social platforms.
  3. Type of Content: Keep an eye on content type. Analyse what specific types of organic, sponsored, and advertisement content they post. i.e. infographics, texts, links or images what kind of content is shared by them and how users are responding on shared content.

Step 4: Choose the social media platform according to your business

Always use the platform according to your business. For example, if you are running a local services business then local listing would make much more positive effects than having a pinterest page. You should choose the platform which your target audience prefer to use. You should have a plan for your social media platforms. Develop business goals and set up your social identity and then find the right platform for your business where you can promote your business, product or services.

Step 5: Focus on interesting content

Creating good content always drives better engagement on social media channels. Focus on creating original & interesting content rather than sales oriented creatives. Try to attract users towards the content instead of asking them to buy anything. If you focus on bringing value to end user, you can develop great brand reputation and relationship with your customers.

Additional Tips

  • Create emotional connect with users
  • Follow current events and develop content accordingly
  • Focus on brand image more than promoting product
  • Interact with users on social platforms.
  • Built better response rate for complain/feedback/suggestions
  • Ask users to participate in Polls/Questions/Competitions
  • Use discounts/promotional offers/extra benefits to attract users

So this was the list of steps which you can follow to create better social media marketing strategy. If you have suggestions for this post then do comment below.

You can also check User Generate Content Strategy and Marketing Ideas.

Competitor Analysis Definition & Importance

competitor analysis

Competitor analysis in SEO is a method which can help you a lot to understand your competitor’s performance in Search Engine Result pages. You can easily outrank your competitors if you are good with competitor analysis. Competitive analysis is a key aspect which can help you to understand the performance key factors and create a SEO strategy for your business. It is most important for you to conduct a competitor analysis when you see your competitors are able to beat you in organic searches. Today I will be sharing information which can help you to understand the meaning of competitor analysis and some steps to conduct an analysis for your website.

What is Competitor Analysis

Competitor analysis in SEO is a method of analysing strengths and weaknesses of both current and potential business competitors. This analysis is useful to collect both an offensive and defensive strategic context to identify opportunities and threats. It gives you an option to identify your competitors and their strategies. As I said earlier, it is an essential component of business strategies. If you are in the market and aware about your competition, you can grow faster and market your product/services in competitive market else you have to face a lot of struggle.

Now let’s talk about the steps of performing competitor analysis. I have learnt few basic steps which I would like to share with you all.

Steps to build competitor analysis strategy

Step 1: Define the industry – Nature & scope of industry

When you are in a business, you need to understand the business industry and market area. Understand the market and focus on building audience. While doing research on industry market, you can analyse nature of audience and scope of your product. There are two ways to identify your business industry.

  • First industry would be where the product already exists
  • Second, where the product doesn’t exist but have potential audience for your product.

In case of a marketplace where product already exists, you don’t need to put a lot of efforts. But when you are working on potential industry, you need to understand every aspect of market.

Start looking for substitute products and their market area. For example, For movie theatres marketplace you can take the alternate audience of online entertainment platforms such as Amazon or Netflix.

Step 2: Determine who the competitors are

There are two types of competition for any business.

  • Direct competition
  • Indirect competition

Direct competition is when you saw similar product or services provider in market. You can easily determine those by doing simple market research.

But identifying indirect competition requires serious efforts. For example, if you have a restaurant which has Indian Food, then nearby restaurants would be your direct competition but food chains such as PizzaHut, Dominos, Subway and McDonalds would be your indirect competition. Although they are serving completely different food but can impact your business.

Step 3: Determine who the customers are and what benefits they expect

After getting the data on market and direct-indirect competitors, you need to understand your customer needs and their mind set towards your product or services. It can be done easily but conducting feedback sessions with product or services users. For this you can set up feedback or suggestions programs. It’s because, user opinion is a mix of positive and negative thoughts but always useful to build a better product.

Few additional steps you can follow:

  • Analyse user behaviour on ad programs
  • Understanding audience behaviour such as their age, gender, interest and demographics.
  • Analyse your web performance and most importantly landing & exit pages.
  • Track website events and site searches
  • Keep a track on referrals & social media platforms. (It will help you to analyse and broaden your social presence in competitive market)

Step 4: Determine the key strengths

Key strengths are based on your product or services type. It could be price, service, convenience, inventory, etc. Compare the factors with competitors and do a competitor analysis on every aspect such as prices, services and product convenience and inventory. Product quality and prices could be a game changer for your business. Let’s take an example of TheSEOGuy. Being a SEO Strategist myself, whenever I deal with people who require digital marketing services from me, I prefer to give them quality services. Because I am dealing in digital marketing services and I don’t have any physical product. In this situation, I need to be sure about services quality.

Step 5: Rate each competitor on each of the key success factors

This is most important factor while doing competitor analysis. You need to understand the competition and rate each success factor i.e. SERP rank, product demand, audience behaviour and product market performance. Create a strategy to counter every aspect. You can only grow if you are ready to counter every key factor.

Few common key factors are:

  • Background
  • Financial Ratio
  • Strength of brand portfolio
  • Pricing (Discounts, and allowances)
  • Corporate and marketing strategies

If you work on every aspect, you can get more key success factors to analyse.

So this was the information on Competitor analysis. Hope it would clear the concept of Competitive market analysis and help you to grow your brand.

However, if you have any feedback or suggestion for above listed information, then don’t hold yourself. You can comment below and share your valuable feedback here. You may also read about How to find out Competitor Backlinks with SEO tools.